Skip to Content
Previous award winner receiving the Food Planet Prize. Image from the Curt Bergfors Food Planet Prize.

News: Environment, Food Security & Nutrition

Nominations Open for the 2025 Curt Bergfors Food Planet Prize

The Curt Bergfors Food Planet Prize The Curt Bergfors Food Planet Prize

Food systems are at the heart of global sustainability efforts, a critical yet vulnerable component of our planet’s health. Recognising the urgent need for transformative action, the Curt Bergfors Food Planet Prize is the world’s most significant environmental award, offering a prize of 2 million USD to a single winner dedicated to projects within the food system.

Nominations are now open for the prestigious award. With the shared vision of fostering a well-nourished global population on a thriving planet, the award aims to incentivise initiatives that significantly reduce the environmental impact of our food systems. The prize is awarded annually in Stockholm on the 28th of June, commemorating groundbreaking contributions to the sustainability and resilience of the planet’s food systems.

Eligibility Criteria

Established in Sweden on August 30th, 2019, the Food Planet Prize acknowledges the urgent need for transformative changes in how we produce, distribute, and consume food. Eligibility for the prize extends to individuals or organisations, whether in commercial or non-commercial settings, anywhere across the globe. Considered initiatives can span the entire food value chain, with no preference given to any specific sector. The key criterion for selection is the potential for the initiative to create the most significant impact.

How to nominate for the Food Planet Prize

Nominations for the Curt Bergfors Food Planet Prize are accepted throughout the year. However, to ensure consideration for the following year’s prize, nominations are encouraged to be submitted by May 10th annually. The rigorous evaluation process spans approximately 15 months, underscoring the importance of timely submissions.

Nominations can be made for one’s own initiative or on behalf of others through the official website of the Food Planet Prize. The process is simple, requiring only a brief paragraph describing the initiative, along with contact details and any relevant links. A nomination, though taking just 3 minutes, has the potential to catalyse transformative change on a global scale.

Selection process

The selection of the prize winners is a collective endeavour undertaken by an esteemed international jury comprising experts from diverse backgrounds spanning academia, business, non-profit, civil service, and practical food systems work. Co-chaired by Johan Rockström and Magnus Nilsson, the jury embodies a rich tapestry of perspectives crucial for identifying initiatives with the greatest potential for positive impact. Read more about the Jury members here.

Past winners of the Food Planet Prize

The Food Planet Prize honours innovative, practical, and research-based solutions that address various aspects of the food system. Past winners include:

  • Practical farming solutions like Sanergy and ColdHubs
  • Innovative initiatives like B4Plastics and FutureFeed
  • Research projects like the AgroBiodiversity Index
  • Conservation and community-empowering endeavours like Blue Ventures and the Global Mangrove Alliance

Visit here for a comprehensive list of winners and shortlisted and longlisted initiatives.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.