Skip to Content
Hale Ann Tufan receiving the Norman Borlaug Field Award in 2019

News: Food Security & Nutrition

Nominations Now Open for the 2024 Norman Borlaug Field Award

World Food Prize Foundation World Food Prize Foundation

As we face unprecedented challenges in global food security, it is more important than ever to recognise and celebrate the efforts of young individuals working tirelessly to feed the world’s growing population.

The Dr. Norman E. Borlaug Award for Field Research and Application, endowed by the Rockefeller Foundation, is an esteemed recognition presented annually by the World Food Prize Foundation in Des Moines, Iowa. The $10,000 award celebrates outstanding achievements in international agriculture and food production by individuals under 40 years old. It honours the legacy of Dr. Norman Borlaug, embodying his intellectual courage and commitment to combating global hunger and poverty.

Nominations for this prestigious award are now open. The deadline for nominations is June 15th, 2024.

Eligibility criteria

Nominees must be under 40 years old as of World Food Day, October 16, of the award year. They must be actively engaged in relevant agrifood fields, projects, or research areas. Both public and private sector professionals are eligible, and collaborative efforts may be considered in exceptional cases.

How to nominate for the Norman Borlaug Field Award

To nominate a deserving individual, visit the official website of the World Food Prize Foundation and complete the Online Nomination Form. Nominations must be submitted in English and should include a detailed description of the nominee’s achievements, examples of their impact and how their work aligns with the award criteria.

Selection process

Nominations will be reviewed by an international jury of agricultural experts chaired by Dr. W. Ronnie Coffman of Cornell University. The jury evaluates each nominee’s contributions to field research and application, innovation, communication, and impact on global food security. Learn more about the award procedure here.

Past winners of the Norman Borlaug Field Award

The Norman Borlaug Award for Field Research and Application recognizes the innovative and impactful contributions of young professionals in the field of agriculture and food production. Past winners include:

  1. Dr. Swati Nayak, Scientist and South Asia Lead for Seed System and Product Management at the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI).
  2. Dr. Mahalingam Govindaraj, Senior Scientist for Crop Development with HarvestPlus at the Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT.
  3. Dr. Elliott Dossou-Yovo, Agriculture and Climate Change Specialist at Africa Rice Center.
  4. Dr. Salma Sultana, Founder and Chairman of the Model Livestock Advancement Foundation.
  5. Dr. Hale Ann Tufan, Principal Investigator of the Gender-responsive Researchers Equipped for Agricultural Transformation (GREAT) project.

Press contact

For more information on the award and nomination process, contact Ellen Franzenburg, Director of Awards and Lectures at the World Food Prize Foundation.

Help the Norman Borlaug Field Award to honour those who embody the spirit of Dr. Norman Borlaug and his relentless pursuit of a hunger-free world.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.